Belated Recap

I haven’t posted anything in a while (bad me). And I’ve actually done things, so I thought I’d sum up a few of the past weeks before I make a post about my most recent weekend trip to Rome.

Week one: February 8-14

School. Some more school. School again. (You can tell this is totally my favorite part of studying abroad…) But Friday night I went out for the first time with a large group of people from the program. We went to a few bars before making our way to Mya, a popular discoteca in Valencia. If you’re ever in Valencia, it’s definitely an interesting place to check out. It’s a club tucked under a bridge, half-outdoors, half-indoors, located right by the Cuidad de Artes y Ciencias. When you walk by the place during the day, you would honestly have no idea it was even there. We stayed there until about 4 in the morning before taking a cab home. If you’re alarmed by how “late” we were there, keep in mind the fact that Spaniards do everything later. Dinner’s not till 9:30 or 10:00ish for most people, and clubs don’t get busy until around 1:30 0r 2:00. It’s not uncommon for people to stay out all night until 5 or 6 in the morning (personally, that’s a little too late for me. I like sleeping 🙂 ).

The bad thing about staying out until 4 was the fact that I had to get up early in the morning (Saturday) for a group day trip. 3 hours of sleep was definitely not enough, but I managed to show up on time for the bus.

We visited Morella, a town about 2 hours north of Valencia and slightly more inland. The whole town is basically on a mountain, enclosed within a large wall. A castle sits at the highest point on the mountain.

WP_20160213_13_06_51_Pro.jpg
The castle at the top of the mountain. At this point, we’d already been climbing upward for a while, and we eventually made it all the way to the top. When I thought about studying abroad in Spain, I honestly did not expect to be climbing so many mountains.

We had a guided tour up to the base of the castle, and then wandered around the castle and the city for the next few hours. It was extremely windy at the top of the castle, but apparently it could have been worse. Sometimes the wind gets so bad they close the castle to visitors.

The bus ride back down from the mountain was rather miserable. The bus was hot, and we spent 20 minutes winding our way down the mountain with hairpin turns.  I was not the only one who felt like they were going to be sick. Not feeling well and being very tired led to me napping most of the bus ride back.

After two days of adventure, I spent Sunday resting.


 

Week two: February 15-21

I went to class some more (yay…). But on Saturday, I went to the Oceanografico, a large, partially-outdoor aquarium in la Ciudad de Artes y Ciencias. It was another program-planned trip, so I spent the day wandering around with classmates. I have mixed feelings about aquariums, but it was a fun day nonetheless.

We took a break from the aquarium for a little while, heading to a large playground in the rio. The playground, which my madre says has been there for years and that her oldest kids played on it when they were young, is a giant abstract man that you can climb and slide down. We may have been a bunch of college kids, but we still had fun climbing around. We weren’t the only people above the age of 18 hanging out there either 🙂

IMG_0700.JPG
Took this photo when I was walking home at the end of the day, so it was getting dark by that point, but normally there are tons of kids here.

We then returned to the aquarium for a dolphin show. The coolest thing about it was that they taught us what to do if we ever saw a beached dolphin. We hung around the pools after the show and the dolphins kept showing off for us.

Basically, we spent the day doing the most stereotypical family-fun things you can think of, but we all enjoyed feeling like 8-year-olds 🙂

Sorry for the delay in posting and be on the lookout for a couple of posts over the next few days featuring my solo trip to Rome!

 

Leave a Reply

