This (Not So Eventful) Week

Not much to report this week. Classes, homework, the usual. Then I got sick on Thursday, which put a bit of a damper on the weekend. I spent most of Friday (a day we were supposed to have class) and Saturday lounging around and sleeping, leaving the apartment briefly on Saturday to meet a friend to get the notes I missed. I felt significantly better today, though, which was good because I had a fútbol game to go to!

I ate a picnic lunch at the rio (the river that’s not really a river) with my friends before we headed to Mestalla (the fútbol stadium). We stopped at a stall outside of the stadium to buy some scarves for Valencia CF, the team we were there to see.

WP_20160131_15_49_34_Pro

Once inside, we climbed a ways up to our seats behind one of the goals, having to ask someone who worked there how to find them. This wouldn’t have been so much of a problem if our tickets said the right section.

WP_20160131_15_49_17_Pro

It occurred to me once we were seated that I’ve never actually been in a stadium designed only for fútbol. They’re a little harder to come by in the U.S.

It was a pretty decent game, but Valencia ultimately lost, unable to score a goal to tie the game after the other team (Sporting de Gijon) scored via a penalty kick. With the amount of shots they had on goal, though, we were surprised that none of them managed to make it in (let’s just say there was a lot of angry swearing going on behind us, which I could understand pretty well after a brief lesson on swear words in my conversation class).

Well, this is a pretty short post, but that’s all I’ve got for now.

Hasta luego

One thought on “This (Not So Eventful) Week

Leave a Reply

